A bit of this and a bit of that.

Todays photos will be a mix from what I've been photographing this last week.

Todays photos will be a mix from what I’ve been photographing this last week.

A week passes quickly and what have I done during these days, absolutely nothing🙂 The rains we had seems to have started a second wave of forest flies, not as many as the first wave but still enough to make me feel slightly insane while taking our walks during the day. It’s only in the very early morning that they keep calm. We also have plenty of horse flies and deer flies at the moment and they do have a nice bite🙂 The cows have moved from the pasture just outside my garden so the biting devils aren’t as bad here as in the forest though. I have a really effective spray that they seems to hate that I can use, the problem is that I get eczema when I use it.

 

DSC_0075

DSC_0077

DSC_0078

DSC_0082

 

The tick season has sort of restarted as well but the spray I got for the dogs works pretty well. At least for a few days, it wears of fast especially since both Orvar and Sune have a tendency to walk in high dew wet grass and Sune just can’t stay away from any smelly puddle he can find🙂 So this morning I removed 10! ticks from Orvar, well 14 actually but four was tiny males that don’t drink blood. The rest of the dogs had one in total and it was actually Nova that had it. So later today I’ll spray them all again, even the flies seems to dislike that spray so they hover over the dogs but don’t land on them.

 

DSC_0084

DSC_0086

DSC_0090

DSC_0092

 

The mosquito nets on the doors are working fine as long as none of the dogs tear them down as soon as they need to run in and out of the cottage🙂 So I’ve had plenty of flies here and used lots of sticky fly paper. But I got tired of it and nailed those nets to the door frame instead🙂 Almost ny new fly has entered my home since I did that🙂 A few butterflies have though and I’ve managed to save them from spider webs and let them out again. They were too big for the spiders and they just didn’t bother to even try to save their webs when the butterflies destroyed them while trying to escape.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

 

All my tomato plants finally flowers and the pumpkins grow really fast, they still only have buds and from the look of them still only male ones. Well I won’t get any pumpkin anyway so it doesn’t matter🙂 Everything finally grows in my garden, the nights are not that cold any longer. The only thing that doesn’t grow are the three walnut trees I sowed last winter. Some pest attacked their leafs so they dropped them but no new ones grow out instead. They just stand there as small sticks with leaf buds🙂 My Black Walnut however grows fine, the competition with the Musk mallow seems to be just what it needed🙂

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0044

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

 

There’s almost no bird song any longer, they have all quieted down and are now concentrating in catching food for their young ones. The eventual blackbird still sings but from now on it will be only the usual twittering we’ll hear. Autumn is still far away but we all feel it coming closer and are preparing for it. Still, next week will be almost as hot as it was before this cooler period arrived. The last week has mostly been cloudy with some rain and fairly strong winds, I have to admit that it has been rather wonderful🙂

 

DSC_0065

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

 

We’ve walked our morning walk and I’ve already been to the super market to get what I need for the weekend and even if I had a list with me I still managed to miss a few things that I wanted🙂🙂🙂 So I might need to go to the store in Gudhem already tomorrow but for today I’m fine. It’s time for a pot of tea and then I might take a nap.

 

Not the super moon but almost :-)

Not the super moon but almost🙂

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “A bit of this and a bit of that.

  1. hi christer! beautiful photos! i love the one of the moon. it was cloudy here and i never got to see it. those flies would drive me crazy. is that the frame for the greenhouse that bertil is standing on or are you building a big cat house? haha..i bet the cats are hoping for the later. my stone pines out front have been attacked by pine worms and we are battling them. i’m not sure who is winning yet. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Too bad it was cloudy when the moon was a super moon but this one wastaken two days later I think.

      No Bertil is climbing in a new hunting tower out on the bog. This group of hunters have joined another small group to get a bigger chance to actually get a moose, because that is what this is allabout. yes they do shoot deers and hog but it is the moose they really want.So now they’ll most likely change behaviour on when they start in the morning and what roads are safe roads so I better talk to them clooser to the hunting season.

      Do the pine worms kill Your pines? I tried to find info about them on the net but I didn’t get any giooid answers. Some seems to kill the trees and some just eat the needles but the tree survives. I guess it’s the one killing the trees that we are terrified over here, that’s why they spryay all pallets with pestisides with high pressure. The ones we have here only eats the needles so the trees survives. Good Luck in killing them!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • these pine worms kill the tree. i hope we caught them in time. now the tomato hornworms are driving me crazy. i hate bugs!

      • I guess that’s the one we fear over here, they got it in Portugal and it spread with the help of pallets. I think they have stopped them at least for now.

        We have very few pests on tomatos here thankfully, not even aphids seems to like them especially much. But the warmer we’ll get it here the more bugs we’ll get I’ afraid.
        Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Wow! Lots of shining cows and some shining ponies, too.🙂 I love the next to the last photo with the cows peeking up out of all that candy tuft vegetation.

    It’s been hot and very humid here the past week. I finally took the new AC unit out of the box and my brother put it in the window for me. Just in time for the really sticky weather. Even the dogs didn’t like it out there.
    But the humidity and temperature have dropped so all the windows are open again. Last night I needed a blanket even with two dogs sleeping next to me. Right now it’s only 58ºF. I don’t mind a bit.

    Love the shot of the water pump and bucket. Reminds me of my uncle’s cottage at the lake.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like that photo too but I think my favorite is the one with tghe old stable and my neighbors potato patch (very small🙂 ).

      I guess that if we’ll continue to get hot summers like we’ve had last year and parts of this year I must get one ofbthose AC units too. We have a portable one at work and it works really great. Well that is if my boss could remember to clean the fan and filter every now and again. Now days it’s usually I that clean it up🙂

      I rented a cottage for several years that had just that kind of pump but mine was red🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Lovely pics today, Christer. The light in many of them is almost ethereal, and most interesting ~. Weather in the Gulf Coast of Texas is in the mid 90s this week, but with some rain to cool us off. Not been too bad, have yet to hit 100, but there’s still 2 more months of Summer. Humidity is the killer here.
    Enjoy the end of your vacation time. I’m off this weekend to take my mom to her grandmother’s family reunion. Mom is 89, so we go way back here, enough info to get us both into the Daughters of the American Revolution. Proud of that one….

    • Hi texasann!

      We did have a couple just wonderful mornings here and fog always make photos look better🙂

      I know that You are used to mid 90’s but still, that is awfully hot🙂 and with high humidity it’s just awful🙂 I guess we might have one, perhaps one and a half month left of summer with a bit of luck.

      Two more weeks of vacation so I have plenty of time to relax🙂 But time just flies now, even if flies do what they can to drive me crazy🙂

      Have fun at the reunion! Now I must check out what the Daughter of the American Revolution is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I won’t do much these two last vacation weeks either, the autumn and winter is long until we get a chance to be home from work again. Well I can always take a day of but I want those hours and vacation days for Christmas.

      I think my favorite is the stable towards the end of this post.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I love the sun in your pictures. It seems to give a clarity to everything it touches. I am sorry that you are still dealing with flies. Do they ever go away? We have fly season in late spring and then they’re gone. Mosquitos are around, but they don’t seem to like me much.

    None of my Boxers are targets for ticks or even fleas. Gracie has had one tick her whole life and one other dog had 1 flea. I knew it because she was biting her foot being unused to a flea. Boxers have such short hair that ticks can’t hide. I check her all the time, but she is just in the backyard running around.

    Your mentioning getting ready for winter gives me the chills. I’m just getting used to summer.

    Have a great day!

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ve heard we have a special light here in Scandinavia, You can see it in the paintings painted by the Skagen Painters.

      The forest fly season should be over now but the last rains we had seems to have woken up a second bunch I’m afraid. The horse fly and deer fly season should be over within two weeks or so but this summer has been unusual. After that we only have the moose flies, really disgusting ones but they rarely leave the forest. Almost no mosquitoes here this summer, the draught killed almost all of them🙂

      Nova usually only walks on the roads or paths so she rarely ahe ticks and Hector tends to walk right behind me, he has come in to a border collie mode🙂 So he almost never have any but Orvar and Sune walks in the high grass and bushes so they walk straight in to tick areas all the time. The spray I bought works fine but I must spray them more often than I have so far.

      Winter isn’t that far but we’ll have plenty of summer still, next week will get really warm again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. At first I thought that Bertil was in one of those hunting blinds that hunters use but then remembered you were building a green house. He looks as though he is enjoying himself. Just the exact kind of things cat owners are encouraged to have in their homes for cats to climb on. Mine always walked along my curtain rods…Actually just one did that..the others never accomplished it. This is the first time (since Pat died) that I have not had a cat. Mele is enough..
    When I read about all you do to escape the misery of the mosquito’s and flies, I thought “there is a price for everything! Where green florishes and wild things grow in abundance, it is always a damp climate..humidity. And with that come bugs, All sorts. Since they put me in an immature fury and I get great joy in smashing them, I am probably in the right environment for me. If one single fly invades my home…Well, last night, for.example…last night one got in and was right in my face while I was trying to do something on my computer. I swatted it away several times and then went nuts and made a mess of the place in my determination to kill the thing. I thought I had..but couldn’t find him.
    This morning I discovered him in the dogs water dish. One less miserable fly! One big mess to clean up..magazines everywhere, things knocked off my desk! 😦
    Have a great day, Christer!

    • Hi Mona!

      He is in one of those hunting towers🙂 They have built new ones and replaced some of the old but placed them in new spots, so Your first thought was right🙂 But I can assure You that there is no need for either cat to have something to climb on here in the cottage🙂 This is the place where they relax🙂
      One fly makes no summer as we say over here🙂 I don’t react any longer if there’s only one fly here in the cottage🙂 But I do feel great joy when I go around and kill all of them fling around in here🙂🙂🙂 But as You say, there’s a price for everything.
      So the fly drowned, I guess it needed to drink after being chased by You🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, I have to agree with Mona and my reaction after reading about the mosquitoes, ticks, horse flies and flies was that I would not want to be near all of them. But, then every time, I see your photos with the light shining through the trees and the fog on the pastures, I know why you live where you do. Hope the extra spray does the job against the ticks. I try to avoid walking in any tall grasses except if wearing pants in summertime. Mosquitoes have no trouble finding me and I do not go looking for them. Enjoy the last weeks of your vacation…doing nothing for a week IS allowable too.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Some years are better than other and this is still a fairly good one🙂 Too bad the rains came otherwise we weouldn’t have had any flies at all now. Last summer was perfect because of the long draught, well wells dried out and never started to work again so I guess some people weren’t too happy.

      Walking in high grass is like asking for ticks🙂 I always have long trousers when walking in nature just because of the ticks. So far it seems that extra spray works fine🙂

      Still have two weeks left of my vacation🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

