A bit chilly in the morning.

DSC_0003

We’re having a pretty wonderful day here, the sun is shining, some clouds pass beneath the sun every now and again and it’s around 25C (77F). almost no wind and the flies seems to stay mostly in the shadows. They didn’t however when I mowed the lawn. Most of them just swarmed around my head but there were a few deer flies and horse flies that gave me some bites. Strangely enough I can’t feel any itching which I usually do for hours and no swelling either so I guess they just made some trial runs🙂

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

It's almost possible to see the rainbow in that fog.

It’s almost possible to see the rainbow in that fog.

 

After that I did my laundry so now I’ve done my chores for the day. Before the mowing and washing I did go to the store in Gudhem to buy the things I, despite a long list, missed to buy yesterday. I didn’t only buy those things, I also bought lots of ice cream of my favorite brand, Klings ice cream. Some strawberries and grapes also followed me home so after the mowing and washing I had two big bowls of ice cream with strawberries. Life feels good days like these🙂

 

DSC_0012     DSC_0013  DSC_0014  DSC_0015

 

The morning however was a bit chilly, we could see our breaths🙂 No frost though and I do hope it’ll stay away until the first week in September as it usually does or even later. I heard one bird singing the entire morning and most are still rather quiet. Some sparrows tweet but that’s it. Bertil tried to catch a magpie yesterday and I could hear how the bird laughed out loud🙂 Teodor is the bird catcher but he’s smart enough to stay away from magpies. My old Erna however managed to catch one and the magpies stayed away from my garden for years after that.

 

DSC_0016  DSC_0017  DSC_0019  DSC_0020

 

We have lots of butterflies and dragonflies here now, most of them refuse to sit still long enough to get photographed though, one just landed and a drying t-shirt and I got a photo that I’ll show You tomorrow, The Swedish name on dragonflies has nothing to do with dragons but another mythical being, the troll. It’s called Troll spindle here, I’m not sure why though so I’ll try to find out why. Just found it out, they were actually believed to be trolls spindles. Before christianity they were closely associated with the goddess Freya.After christianity arrived they started to look more suspiciously at them and the dragonfly was often connected with the devil or mythical beings like dragons, troll or witches.

 

DSC_0021

It was so chilly tat we could see our breaths.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0027

 

The laundry is dry and I better bring it in before any sparrows do their business on it🙂 All the animals are asleep and I think I’ll join them by taking a small nap, perhaps I’ll have a cup of tea and some more ice cream before though🙂

 

Finally it grows! This one should be at least a meter long now (a yard) but the cold nights have slowed it down.

Finally it grows! This one should be at least a meter long now (a yard) but the cold nights have slowed it down.

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “A bit chilly in the morning.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I can see how dragonflies could be called spindles. They are sort shaped like drop spindles used to spin yarn. Freya would have had some, I’m sure. Trolls, on the other hand, I don’t know. I don’t associate trolls with spindling or weaving or anything like that. Hewing rocks and crunching bones, maybe.😉
    I much prefer to call them dragonflies, though. Seems more correct.

    Today is a bit overcast and it’s only 68ºF. It’s still morning, of course. It’s a little more humid than yesterday, too, but no rain is expected. I’ll take it. No AC needed today.

    Enjoy the ice cream and the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      You must remember that we scandinavians look at trolls different than much of the world. We’ve seen them as rather human but prehaps a bit uglier but with lives much like ours. Well not mountain trolls, they are big, aggressive and a bit stupid🙂 but very shrewd.

      Thankfully the humidity is rather low here today so it’s really nice now despite it being rather hot. Probably no rain for a week or two they say🙂

      The ice cream is delicious🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. it sounds like you are enjoying the summer! Strawberries and icecream means summer to us, we only eat it in summer, the dragon flies name Toll Spindles is fascinating, their body does sort of look like a spindle, isn’t it something the way a name sticks, and how an evil meaning for creatures and names could last all those years, I have always liked to look at Dragon flies, but I like the name Toll Spindle much more!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I am it’s the same here. Strawberries only in summer with either ice cream or cream :-)I do like to watch dragonflies or troll spindles🙂 Amazing creatures really and I guess their body does look a bit like a spindle. I’ve never really thought of the name before but I’ve always liked the name dragonfly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like our name on it but I have this thing for dragons🙂🙂🙂

      Yes I’ll have loats and lots of ice cream now when I finally bought home some🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Dragonfly’s are fine. They do carry Fairies around, so that’s fine. A Troll. I would scream and faint dead away!
    Insects probably often get their names from their looks. You think?
    Yep..they do look a bit like a spindle, don’t they?

    • Hi Mona!

      But if You look at old folklore from most places fairies aren’t that nice, they tend to give children bad diseases amongst other things🙂 But I do like gragonflies anyway🙂

      You must remember that we Scandinavians look at trolls in another way than You do, over here they are much like us humans with farms of their own and cattle of their own. Most times we have lived side by side with no problem at all. It’s a totally different thing with mountain trolls though, they are big, ugly and stupid🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer…can you please, please, please make you print larger so I can see it? I am having the worst time on yours and Joyce’s blogs, trying to see the words. (Sorry..I’m getting old I guess.)

    • Mona! It must be something with your computer. I already have extra large letters because I have readers who have problems with their eyes. So I’m not sure how to help You with this.
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

