Cool morning, hot day.

DSC_0003

I had planned to go to a bigger town this morning but it is going to be really hot today and it’s already so warm that I don’t want to leave the dogs in the dogyard. Nova will go in to the old garage and Sune will probably stay in the doghouse but the old ones will most likely stay outdoors and that will be just too hot today. It’s one thing if I had to go to work but another if I actually don’t have to go anywhere. I’ll go either tomorrow or on Wednesday and I’ll bring my camera too, the town is rather nice looking.

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

 

I could see fog when I opened the door for the dogs this early morning and thought a walk to the bog would give me nice photos. I did get some foggy photos but it turned out that the fog stayed much longer in the village today🙂 Well one can’t be successful in every choice one makes🙂 Birds were actually singing in the forest today, unlike how it has been here the last week or so. I guess they liked the morning as much as I did. There were also some mosquitos now so I guess some of them survived the draught after all. But this was the old kind that sort of circles around the head a million times before they decide it’s safe to go down, the other kind we’ve had for a few years are still absent thankfully. We call them Flood mosquitos and they are fairly new to this area. They don’t circle at all, they just land and start drink our blood. I do prefer the old kind🙂

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

 

I didn’t sleep especially well during the night, the cottage was just too hot. So one of the things I’ll buy in the big town is a fan, at least it will stir the air some. No use in buying an AC since it still is very rare we get it this hot. But since they say the climate is getting warmer and warmer I might need to buy an AC in the future. Lots of plants have died here after two warm winters and the ones surviving those died when we had that late heavy frost. I have plenty of space to fill in my flower beds next year, at the moment weeds and grass grow there instead.

 

DSC_0016

I happened to take two photos at the same time by accident and the first one showed a thin foggy line that went across the photo that didn't show in the next one (that I posted in my NG album). Next photo show a clooser look to it but it is hard to see. I can only assume that it i something mythical and magical flying pass since it is taken by a bog :-) Do You have any guess to why this thin line shows?

I happened to take two photos at the same time by accident and the first one showed a thin foggy line that went across the photo that didn’t show in the next one (that I posted in my NG album). Next photo show a closer look to it but it is hard to see. I can only assume that it i something mythical and magical flying pass since it is taken by a bog🙂 Do You have any guess to why this thin line shows?

DSC_0020 - kopia

I thought at first it might be a spider web but can’t see any in the first photo. It probably is but it’s funnier to think it’s something mythical🙂

 

DSC_0022

 

They had predicted some showers here later today but now it seems that we’ll get sunshine all day instead. I don’t mind because that will most likely keep the humidity on bearable levels but it does mean I’ll have to water in the garden. Some places are like a desert out there, doesn’t matter how much I water, the ground will dry out after just a few minutes. Other places never dry out and I guess that’s where the ground water comes up close to the surface. I’ll only water the things I absolutely want to survive, if the rest survives they’ve shown they’ll manage to survive here🙂

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

It’s time to make some breakfast, I already have a cup of tea by my side. Today I really need to make some dinner, long time since I did that🙂 I can’t say I enjoy standing in front of a hot stove on hot summer days. I know I can always use my slow cooker but the things I have just takes a short time to cook anyway. I have some lamb, reindeer, pork and moose in my freezer so it will either be something of that or pancakes🙂

 

Sune just loves to take baths :-)

Sune just loves to take baths🙂

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Cool morning, hot day.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Strange foggy lines. Hmm. Fairy zooming through leaving contails in the morning humidity?
    I think it’s spider web strand that was too close to the camera to be in focus. At least that’s what they look like on my camera.🙂

    I know what you mean about standing over a hot stove in the heat. Most of the time I’m living off cold chicken that was roasted by the supermarket deli, sliced tomatoes and sliced cucumbers. Maybe some deli potato salad because who wants to boil large amounts of water to cook potatoes and potato salad made from nuked potatoes is awful.
    You could use the slow cooker for those quick cooking things, though. It would take a bit longer than the stove but not as long as regular slow cooking. Start dinner around lunch time.🙂

    It’s cool and cloudy here but it’s supposed to get sunny later on. They said that yesterday, too. We shall see.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That would have been fun but I’m pretty sure You’re right, it’s just a spider web🙂

      I think I’ll buy roasted chicken too and the rest as well🙂 It’s just too warm to stand by the stove on days like these.
      I still would need to fry those thin slices of what ever of it I chose so I feel that using the slow cooker just ads one more thing when I can have it all ready in ten minutes anyway🙂

      It’s hot and I think we’ve might have had thunder nearby because Hector went in to the bathroom and stayed there for a while. I wouldn’t be surprised if it came here too, it usually happens on hot days like this.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I don’t reheat the roasted chicken on hot days. I just eat it cold. Sometimes I put salsa on it or mayo if I want more flavor but mostly I just eat it as is. They stick enough flavoring on it at the supermarket anyway. Sometimes I’ll stick it in the microwave for a few seconds.
        The sun is starting to show through breaking clouds. Maybe they are right today.🙂

      • Those chickens are usually quite tasty🙂 But they do ribs too sometimes and if there’s lots of meat oin them I’ll buy them. There’s really no need to reheat any of them they are just as good cold🙂

        Hot, hot, hot here and low humidity and I love it🙂 I think we might have had thunder nearby because Hector walked in to the bathroom for a while. And I see that I’ve already told You that🙂🙂🙂

  2. hi christer! we are having horrible hot humid weather this week too. thank goodness my house is nice and comfortable. i keep watering but somehow it doesn’t help. it dries out so fast. i am getting tons of tomatoes now. i am going to have to start making sauce because we can’t eat them fast enough. they sure are good though. i love tomato sandwiches on homemade bread with mayonnaise. i also have my first okra growing. they are supposed to work on my roof so that pretty much assures that we will get rain! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Still rather low humidity here so the hot weather isn’t that bad. Yes, lots of watering now and since You have it so much hotter than I there’s no problem understanding how much You need to water. But You can remopve most of the elafs on the tomato plants, they do little use now, they just evaporate water. Leave a few in the top, that’s all the plant needs.

      Another thing You can do besides loosen up the soil surface is to cover it with for example cut grass, that stops most of the evaporation and the grass will also fertilize the soil when breaking down.

      I have flowers on my tomato plants🙂🙂🙂 I can also see female fowers on my pumpkins, so I might actually get a few even if they never will become anyting in size. I guess one can eat tiny pumpkins just as one can eat tiny zucchinis?

      I think that sandwich most possibly is the tasteist of them all, sometimes I also sprinkle some salt and black pepper on the tomato slices🙂

      Yes if they will start working on Your roof You’ll get rain for sure🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! The streak is definitely mythical. What are the tiny lights scattered around in the forest floor? Itried to enlarge the photo to the size I used to get but they don’t do that anymore. They only turn out just a bit larger then the ones appearing on your post.
    Since I live in a home full of mystical things happening all the time…and I’ve gotten used to it..I doubt nothing.
    I think I have your email address and if I do I will send you a recent photo, one taken just a few days ago right here in our home. I have lots of them. Writings on mirrors…all sorts of things. At first I was horrified and frightened and sometimes even angry because my little dog seemed to be a target..but that has calmed..and rarely happens anymore. She interacts with them nightly. It bothers me sometimes..and other times I just ignore it.
    If I cannot find your email address I will have you send it. I would love for you to see this.
    Something was on the move in your forest. I will send you the writings on the mirrors if you like as well. 🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Those shiny lights are actually spider webs that reflect the sunlight. Well, I made the photos smaller for You and now they are too small🙂🙂🙂 I think it is the settings in Your computer that makes life difficult for You. I have extra large letters but You see small ones and the photos get just a bit bigger if You click on them, they should fill up Your screen totally🙂 Try to click on the slightly bigger photo one more time, it often happens that the computer only makes it slightly bigger to make a photo look as good as it can.

      Yes please do send me a photo. I think the best thing si to just see that things happen but not to get upset. it’s no fun for anyone if the targeted person just don’t react🙂 not even for beings🙂 I’ll email You my address.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! Its hot and humid here this week – it was so humid this morning you just started to sweat standing around, not doing anything. I don’t like it like that. I prefer much cooler weather! I wonder if you could get a portable air conditioner for your cottage? You never know what the future will bring with weather and its so nice to be able to sleep at night being comfortable. I know our dogs really like it too! I think that the streak was a small fairy flying by to be sure! I picked some beans from the garden last night, enough for a supper for us!! Sune looks happy after the swim! Our dogs wanted to swim so badly at our cottage this weekend but the waves were so bad that they could only go in up to their bellies. They love to swim too! Lovely pictures today! Have a good evening!!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Low humidity here thankfully but that can chnage quickly.I know there are portable ones to buy but this is still rather rare so I’ll wait some time more. I saw a smart easy and cheap way to make one oneself and I think I’ll try that as soon as I can go to the bigger town nearby.

      I had hoped someone would say it was a tiny dragon flying by🙂 That would have been cool🙂

      I think it’s time to start harvest the red leeks now, I’ll try one when I get the energy to make some dinner🙂

      That dog just loves to bathe, he hasn’t seen a lake yet so what he’ll do when he finally see one I don’t know. I will most likely go down to friends in my old home town next week so he will be able to meet the ocean for the first time🙂 I’m pretty sure he’ll love it🙂

      By the way! I’ve asked a friend and I can send seeds from that poppy to You if You want some. It’ll take some time until they ripe though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Christer!! A small dragon – now wouldn’t that be totally COOL! Better than a fairy (but I shouldn’t say that too loud). I would love some poppy seeds! I was thinking of sending you some “famous” Canadian coffee but I will keep what kind and name a surprise until you get it! If you want to send me an e-mail under separate cover with your address and I will send you mine. Thanks for checking on that!! *happy poppy dance*🙂

      • Hi Dianna!

        Too bad small dragons are so rare now dyas🙂🙂 People tend to think fairies are nice beings but they are far from, they spread death and disease most of the time🙂 It’s only Fairy godmothers that seems to be nice🙂

        I’ll e-mail You as soon as I have seeds that have ripen🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

