I can see small tomatoes!

DSC_0024

I wouldn’t be surprised if we’ll get thunder later today, it’s already much warmer today than yesterday around this time. The difference is a weak breeze and a slightly higher humidity. Still it’s quite nice but I doubt I’ll do anything more energy-consuming today. But it’s even hotter above the arctic circle today, I’ve heard that they might even reach 32C (89,6F) and that doesn’t happen every summer🙂 It’s absolutely quiet in the village, a bird is tweeting some but that’s it. It is still too early for the grasshoppers, they usually start their music after noon. I saw the first katydid yesterday and they usually play in the evenings, very loudly from the top of my lilacs and apple trees.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

I drove to the grocery store in Gudhem as soon as they opened this morning, I wanted to come home before it became too hot. That little store is usually freezing cold even during summer but today it was nasty warm in there. They had a portable AC unit and I didn’t realize for a very long time that it actually was working🙂🙂 I had to put my hand in front of it to feel the cold air. It is way to small for a grocery store and I doubt that it helps keeping the entrance doors open at the same time🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0036

 

I found some tiny tomatoes on one of my tomato plants this morning🙂 I hadn’t seen them before because they were covered by all the leafs on that little bush🙂 Do You know that You can remove most leafs from a tomato plant and just leave some at the top of it? The leafs only evaporates water and it isn’t that fun to keep watering all day, also if You cover the soil with for instance cut grass the soil will keep the moisture so much better and also reducing the watering we need to do. I also finally found lots of female flowers on my pumpkin vines, I guess pumpkins, like zucchini can be eaten long before they ripe so I at least will have some use of the eventual pumpkins I might get🙂

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

 

Nova is sleeping on the kitchen stairs, in the frying sunlight. I wonder if that’s especially healthy? The others are all sleeping either in the shadow or in the cottage. I Think both cats are sleeping upstairs, I know they came in after I came home from the grocery store and I haven’t seen them leaving. This is just how summer should be, we need it to cope through a long and dark winter. Well, it got too hot even for Nova🙂 she’s now here in the kitchen by my feet instead.

 

Californian poppies never disapoints me and they tend to self sow for a couple of years too.

Californian poppies never disappoints me and they tend to self sow for a couple of years too.

Hyssopus officinalis, a good alternative for places where lavender won't grow.

Hyssopus officinalis, a good alternative for places where lavender won’t grow.

Can't remember what this one is called. Likes swampy places if it grows in full sunshine.

Can’t remember what this one is called. Likes swampy places if it grows in full sunshine.

DSC_0005

 

I’ve just finished the box of strawberries I bought and now it’s time for some tea or perhaps I should surprise myself with some coffee instead🙂 Through the open kitchen door I can see clouds above the mountain building up to become thunder clouds. I think I’ll join all the animals and take a nap too.

 

Gillenia stipulata.

Gillenia stipulata.

Calceolara mexicana, the flower is still not fully grown though.

calceolaria mexicana, the flower is still not fully grown though.

IIlliamna remota. The flowers are very pale this year, almost white. Normally they are more pink.

Illiamna remota. The flowers are very pale this year, almost white. Normally they are more pink.

Clematis tangutica.

Clematis tangutica.

 

Have a great day!

 

This variety is called Vilma.

This variety is called Vilma.

18 thoughts on “I can see small tomatoes!

  1. that clematis is wonderful! did you plant the kind of pumpkins you can eat? they don’t grow very big, more like the size of a melon. it sure is hot for you. we are having the same weather. today will be in the 90’s with very high humidity. my worst weather. it sure looks like you will have tomatoes! we are getting so many that we are eating them with every meal.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like it a lot. A big part of it died this winter, lots of plants did, it used to cover the entire top of that crab apple tree🙂 It’s actually looking much better this way.

      Yes it is an edible and supposed to be as big as a water melon. But the flowers haven’t even opened up yet🙂 but it’s close now. We had 84F hare for a while but more and more thunder clouds cover the sky and cools it down a tiny bit🙂 It’s clear blue right above the cottage though.

      I hope we’ll get a long and warm autumn because then I might get quite many tomatoes.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. LOL! Kinda of sad, growing where the summers are so short! Your new greenhouse will surely extend your season!! 😉 I’m contemplating looking for recipes for green tomatoes!

    It will be hot and humid and stagnant here also. No AC, just fans, like you said, a good day to do very little moving around.

    I am growing a new variety of popcorn that is supposed to be very colorful, like indian or ornamental corn. It is called Glass Gem and you can find out about it on the web. It is just starting to tassel! Only problem is, it is about three hundred feet from my house and I have to truck water out to my garden.😦 Do you have any summer squash? I wish I could send you some of mine, it is like an invasion! Everyday I look for more recipes for it!

    The purple flower on the roadsides, is that purple loosestrife? Lythrum salicaria? It is considered invasive here in the US, is it so in Sweden also? I love it, had some in my garden, but it did not stay.

    Hoping for rain so I can take a day off watering…

    • Hi Wendy!

      Thankfully I know of nothing else🙂 and You’re right, the green house will make the season so much longer🙂

      Thunderclouds are surrounding my village but it is still a clear blue sky above the cottage🙂 If we’ll get thunder it will be helliushly I think🙂🙂🙂

      No summer squash this year, my cats peed the ones I had last summer to death🙂 I remember the first time I grew summer squash, I had at least ten plants and I drowned in squashes🙂🙂🙂

      That is beautiful corn! The season is usually to short to grow corn here, they have varieties that ripe faster but those are only used as animal food and not especially tasty I’ve heard. One sure must love corn to want to water them that far away from the house🙂🙂🙂

      No that is Fire weed, Chamerion angustifolium. It grows everywhere here and is very invasive too, The purple loosestrife grows here too but this area is just too dry for it. There’s a lot of it down by the creek and lots of people bring it home and place it in their ponds and wet beds and regrets it pretty fast🙂🙂🙂

      I’m pretty sure we’ll get thunder soon but it doesn’t loom as it rains from any of those clouds around us.

      Have a great day and I hope rain willarrive to You🙂

      Christer.

  3. I morgomn ska jag ta bort nästan alla blad på mina tomater. Trots att jag hela tiden har minskat antalet, så är dom för många – vilket gör att en hel vattenkanna med vatten inte förslår en hel dag.:-(
    Puh! Det är “nästan” för varmt nu!! Efter att ha vattnat mina 59 (!) krukor och klippt gräset i förträdgården och på innertomten samt runt garaget – tar alltså 1,5 timme på åkgräsklipparen – så var jag helt slut. La mig i soffan i skuggan på altanen och läste, men somnade förstås i värmen. Så det var bara att slänga sig i poolen…..🙂
    Under tiden jag klippte vattnade Rolle dom 30 nyplanterade träden + några vi satt förra året också – med slang, så han var också väldans varm. Vi, dumskallar, gjorde alltså det här mitt på dagen, men vi var tvungna. Växterna slokade betänkligt – och det enda som hade växt i gräsmattan var ogräset, så den så inte kul ut alls!😦😦
    I morgon är det dags att vattna 12 m pallkragar, eftersom det är mer än snustorrt i dom trots att dom fick vatten i söndags!😦😦😦
    Men Santos har det bra, han ligger i skuggan på altanen under bordet på dagarna. Där fläktar det lite…..🙂🙂🙂

    KRAM
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag plockar blad lite då och då, jag har ju bara de tomaterna som syns på bilden än🙂 Visst dunstar det otroligt mycket vatten från bladen! Jag drar av dem och lägger på jordytan så gör de i alla fall den nyttan att de hindrar avdunstning från jorden.

      33 grader visar min termometer att det blev som varmast! Måste varit precis innan de fem minuterna åska vi hade. Fick en skur men det torkade så fort att jag inte ens blev blöt om fötterna när jag gick ut barfota🙂🙂

      Jag var ute och vattnade vid sjutiden i morse, så allt ser fortfarande piggt ut. Men det måste ju göras om i morgon igen.

      Ingen fläkt att tala om här så hundarna ligger och fklämtar precis överallt just nu.

      Ha det gott i värmen!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    When my clematis bloomed, it was draped across the top fence post and was absolutely beautiful. So many people commented on it. At the end of last summer I added two small ones to the other part of the fence. They are growing up toward the top already.

    It is not even a bit humid today so I guess all the rain of the last two days washed it away. It is quite here now too. All I hear are the birds and Gracie snoring. Fern is lying in the sun streaming through the front door and is hot to the touch. Cats like the heat.

    I went out and did a few errands yesterday and was thinking of going out today, but I’m not sure now if I want to or not. I can download a book and the flowers can wait. I’m feeling lazy.

    Have a great evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      They do look nice when climbing along the fence. The lilacs prevent that here so they’ll have to do with my trees instead. I have another one as a ground cover where the pond used to be and it flwers nicely too now.

      The shower we just had made the humidity go sky high so it’s kind of nasty here now, even sitting still here in front of the computer makes me sweat like crazy🙂 Well, it’s summer and I have vacation🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    So the fuzzy pinkish thing in front of the shaggy pony is another fairy flitting by?😀

    The bed with the hyssops and poppies is lovely. I’ve decided that next year I want a bed of Queen Anne’s Lace mixed with orange day lilies, purple something I don’t know what yet and Asters, either New England Asters or New York Asters or both. Maybe some Cali Poppies, oh, and white field daisies. In short I want a roadside weed garden. You think it would just happen since it seems to happen everywhere else without anyone planning it that way.🙂

    We went to the lake this morning. Piki Dog’s first time there. I did take some photographs with great difficulty because two dogs in one hand is not conducive to good photography. I think my choices may end up to be 2 dogs and no camera, no dogs and a camera or Rocky and a camera. We shall see.

    It was supposed to be 89ºF today but the weather folks dropped it to 85. Yay.:/ Actually, it’s very comfortable in the house at the moment and will probably stay that way until later when the sun shines in the west windows. I thought I would have to turn on the AC well before this but no. It’s hot outside, though.
    My dogs would be sleeping in the sun on the hot asphalt if they were outside. I don’t get it. There’s shade and cool water 10 feet away.
    Maybe the main AC unit in your little grocery store is broken and the portable one is a temporary fix. Have you cobbled together the $19.00 one yet? Neither have I.🙂

    Time for some lunch.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wish it would have been but It’s just a very close Fireweed🙂

      I do like the sound of that flower bed, I’ve never really thought of having wild carrot in the flower beds but it is a nice looking flower. I have dog bisquits all over my garden and they tend to blend in nicely just lik Queen Anne will. I actually have New York asters in my garden but they rarely get the chance to flower before the real cold weather starts, the New England one does and I do like them both. Yes why do these plants never grow just as nicely in our gardens as by the road, too little fumes around them?🙂🙂

      It is a bit tricky to take photos at the same time as holding a couple of dogs🙂 But if I manage to do it with four I’m pretty sure You will with Your two🙂 It seems they can feel when the absolute worst time to move is and naturally they move precisely in that second🙂

      We reached 99,4F 91,4F hare just before a tiny thunder storms passed by, it dropped a few degrees but I kept windows open both on the bottom floor and upstairs all night. No one would ever risk breaking in when there are fourd dogs just benetah the windows letting in cool air🙂🙂🙂 It was a bit chilly in my cottage when I woke up this morning🙂

      I’ve never understood how some dogs seems tolove being boiled? But it did get too hot for Nova yesterday🙂

      No I haven’t done that yet and by the time I have this hot weather will be yone🙂 but I’ll be prepared for next year if necessary🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Either too little fumes around or not enough lead, asphalt and heavy metals in the soil. Maybe I will put the wild roadside garden next to my driveway. It’s blistering hot during the day and probably has enough of the special nutrients that those plants apparently crave.😀

  6. The mist that lays on the ground in your area gives a rather mystical look to everything. Artists must love your country with so much landscape to paint. Yes, I saw your tiny tomatoes! Wish I had planted some. Maybe next year.

    • Hi Mona!

      There aren’t many landscape peinters left, in this part of the world anyway. Too bad because I love those kinds of paintings. But if You look up Skagen Painters on the net You’ll find some wonderful paintings from back in the days.

      I guess You could grow tomatoes until late October so there’s still time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer! YAY for small tomatoes! I have a few on my one and only plant – one turning slightly orangey red. I didn’t know about that with tomato plants. I will go out tomorrow and remove most of the leaves. No point in keeping them. I hope the thunder and rain found you. It was actually a very pleasant day here today. Slight wind, not too hot (about 26 celcius) and no humidity. I like summer days like this. But as I sit here in my front room, its going on 8:30 p.m., I notice the sun lower in the sky each day. Kind of sad really. The past winter was so harsh for us, most days were -30 celcius and that’s not factoring in the wind. -40 or higher with the wind. For weeks on end. Brutal. i just love those poppies! So pretty! I have one poppy plant (asian variety) and the rabbits just LOVE it. That clematis is amazing! I have never seen one like that. Beautiful pictures today – I love the one of the horses; one of the horses needs his/her bangs trimmed. Have a happy Wednesday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes I will get tomatoes🙂🙂🙂 long time till they change color though even if they are cherry tomatoes. The leafs only helps the plant in the early stages after that many of them can be removed and the plant willstay just as healthy. They tend to keep thye sun away from the tomatoes as well so it takes longer to ripe.

      We did get a tiny thunderstorm and just before it arrived we reached 33C for a short while, can’t say I enjoyed it🙂 But this morning is just wonderful, foggy and cool. I’ve just posted a few new photos in my NG album.

      We had a very warm winter this year and more plants died because of that than it usually does during an unusually cold winter. Odd, one think they woud appreciate a few warm winters.

      No rabbits here and the hares never jump in to my garden, Nova the hare hunter would at least manage to scare them away🙂 Deers stay away most of summer as well but I did see a deer foot print in early summer. That deer will never again try a leaf from my walnuts🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

