Not a single one in the entire county.

Peekaboo.

Peekaboo.

There’s not a single fan to obtain in the entire county, nor in the county next door either. Well I’m not surprised to be honest. Who could have guessed we would get another hot summer the year after we already had one, they aren’t that common here to be honest🙂 I guess they thought that since they sold so many fans last summer there were no use in ordering in especially many this year since we most likely wouldn’t get such a summer the next coming twenty years anyway. 

 

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

DSC_0050

DSC_0054

 

But this heat wave will end tomorrow afternoon they say so I’ll buy a fan as soon as possible so I am prepared next time another heat wave comes. Rain will come but mostly in showers and one never knows where those hit and I’m pretty sure thunder will follow and that always clear up the air. But even if it is very warm outside it’s not that bad anyway because the wind has finally started to blow and the humidity is low. Ok, You won’t find me outside jogging but it’s fairly nice🙂

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

DSC_0058

DSC_0060

 

There are not many flies around, I’m not sure if the season is over or that it’s just too hot for them too. I think their season actually is over, it should be by now. So it will be rather nice to take walks again until the moose fly season starts in the autumn. Lots of dragonflies around though, there were so many flying around in my garden yesterday that it was impossible to count them. I wonder why they weren’t here when there were lots of flies around? 

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0029

DSC_0039

DSC_0042

 

Now I’ve used more or less all energy I had today so from now on I’ll find the coolest spot in the cottage and slowly start melting away🙂

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Not a single one in the entire county.

  1. in my neck of the woods, if you don’t get a fan in the spring, it is hard to find one. we can always count on heat here. and bad humidity. however, it was 55 degrees when teddy and i went out early this morning and next week our highs will be in the low to mid 70’s. i would like summer if it would stay like this!

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s normally never any problems finding a fan here during our summers, they tend not to be like this. But they said they’ll get more soon si I’ll just buy one or two for later.

      I think we had just the same temperature this morning and I’m glad it will cool down over at Yours too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,

    You could always order the fans online. As Jazz said, around here you have to buy the snowblower in July and the fan in December. If you try to be in synch with the season you will be out of luck.🙂

    You most definitely have perfected your troll spindle stalker technique. Lovely photos. There are red dragonflies over here, too. Scarlet meadow somethings or Autumn somethings, I forget what.🙂

    What are those flowers that the deer is standing in? They make the field look frosty.

    Today is cool and sunny and dry. Wonderful weather. The dogs and I have been out twice already even though it’s early. I have a couple of errands to do so we will be on the road again soon.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I didn’t think of that! Of course I can do so I’ll see if I can find any in the right size after this. I guess if I buy a fan this will most likely be the last hot summer until it breaks down🙂🙂🙂

      They were very polite yesterday, they just satb there trying to catch some of the weak wind we had. I guess they might have been too hot too. I have no idea what ours are called but I think our biggest is a yellow and bluishgreen one. Very big and very beautiful and rare of course🙂

      The deer is standing in a mix of plants. Lots of peas and oat but also cloves and some other grasses. That is the field where all birds ate earlier this summer. I guess the dew helped making that frsoty feeling.

      I don’t think we’ll go for any more walk today, the old ones won’t make it in this heat.

      Have a great day!
      Christer

    • Hi Jim!

      I think we reached 90 here today and tomorrow will be jst the same until the afternoon or evening. Most likely we’ll get thunderstorms and heavy rains and I’m looking forward to it🙂

      I have actually found a few fans on the internet but they have been too big for me. I’ll however keep on looking🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! That first photo and your caption just cracked me up! I laughed out loud! Cute pics tho!🙂 It was hot here today and all the storms and thunder they promised starting last night never came. I am really not sure they know how to predict the weather anymore. I understand its hard, but we could use the rain. We have tons of dragonflies around too. But unfortunately this city sprays for mosquitoes (with malathion, a poison) and although we submit our address every year to have a buffer zone (no spraying within 90 meters of our house) sadly I think the dragonflies get killed along with the mosquitoes. I wish the city wouldn’t do it. I hope you find a fan soon! Maybe for next year, just in case!🙂 The sun has set early tonight – or so it seems. But I notice we are losing daylight earlier and earlier each night. Sad. By the time you read this it will be Saturday, happy day!

    • Hi Dianna!
      🙂

      I don’t think it was the hottest day of the year yesterday but it sure was close🙂 The thunder and rain they had predicted for us today is postponed. It’ll arrive tomorrow instead. I too am starting to wonder if they’re just guessing or tossing coins when it comes to their weather predictions🙂🙂🙂

      They only spray for mosquitoes at one place in this country and for one species only and they use some kind of bacteria that obnly kill this one species. So no other mosquito or insect dies from this, very odd but it works fine🙂 We have very few diseases that is mosquito spread here thankfully but the one we do have, hare plague, can kill humans too.

      I have found really big fans but I need it for a speciffic thing so it must be a small one. I’ll find one till next year🙂

      Yes it does get darker much earlier now and since I’m up around 4 in the morning I do notice that the sun rise much later too, autumn and winter will soon be over us.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Those dragon flies are quite a piece of intricate engineering! 🙂 One should always keep a fan on hand. Just this tiny little rose floral painted fan I have on my desk comes in very handy.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      They are and they are truly amazing flyers.

      I’ll get a fan till next time we’ll get it this hot. If the climate had been as it always has that would be sometime in twnty years from now🙂 But it has chnaged so who knows, I might need it already this year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I have a fan going right now!
    it’s humid and the fan helps.
    Tomorrow the weather is supposed to cool off so I don’t want to turn on the air-conditioners for just today.
    To be honest I only get part of the fan breeze…just whatever blows around Blue’s big old body
    but how can I move him?

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ll get a fan till next time it is needed. If limate had been as it always had I hadn’t have to think of buying one until twenty years from now🙂 But things have changed so we might get another heat wave before summer is over.

      It’s hard enough to move my 100 pound dogs so I guess it’s no use in even trying to move Blue🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

