Just imagine if it actually was that easy :-)

I used the old camera today so I could use the autofocus, some mornings it's just impossible to focus the eyes even without looking through a camera :-)

I used the old camera today so I could use the autofocus, some mornings it’s just impossible to focus the eyes even without looking through a camera🙂

The thunder is upon us, I think. It’s hard to know because there’s no lightning, just the sound and not a drop of rain can be seen or heard. Hector is in the bathroom so I do know it’s here anyway. The thunder never really came close yesterday but we got the winds that usually occurs before and during a good thunder-storm. No rain during the thunder but a gentle rainfall that fell the entire evening and parts of the night too. Well se what happens when one talks about it, the rain is falling heavily outside at the moment. I better close the windows un the upper floor.

 

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

 

I fetched my new mobile phone at the post office in Gudhem this morning. It’s a Sony Xperia something that can take dust and water without problems. I opened up the new simcard I got a few days ago and everything looks fine. I never understand the new phones but I did fine the message app and started to send some messages. It turns out they have given me yet a new telephone number because no one understood the messages was from me🙂🙂🙂 Well. I really don’t want a new number so I called the telephone company and asked what they were doing? It turns out I’ve gotten an extra number from the ones selling me the phone, of kindness? I still have my old numbers so this was an extra without any extra cost. So the phone company just told me to put my old simcard in the new phone and all should be as it always has been.

 

I was pretty sure there would be fog at the bog this morning because of the rain uesterday and the sunny cold morning today.

I was pretty sure there would be fog at the bog this morning because of the rain yesterday and the sunny cold morning today.

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

Just imagine how easy life could be if that had been the case🙂 It turns out that the new phone can’t take such a big simcard, I need a smaller one🙂🙂🙂 So I’ll be using my old phone for another week I guess but that also gives me time to actually learn how the new one works before I start making mistakes while using it🙂🙂🙂 I can now tell You that the thunder storms is just above my cottage, the rain is pouring down, still no lightning though but the rumble makes my little cottage tremble like it was an afraid little mouse. Just as I wrote this the first lightning hit somewhere up on the mountain.

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

Have You ever eaten jellyfish soup or smelled the smell from it? It smells something like burnt rubber and the taste is pretty similar, nothing to wish for unless one wants to eat the smell one can find on car races🙂 Anyway, I’ve been feeling that smell here and there when we’re out walking, very odd! It’s a smell one don’t forget and to find it here in the middle of nowhere is very odd. The latest time I smelled it was this morning out by the bog and I truly doubt anyone was out there making jellyfish soup🙂 I also doubt that any animal actually could smell like that so I wonder what it can be.

 

And all this time I felt the odd smell of jellyfish soup.

And all this time I felt the odd smell of jellyfish soup.

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0041

 

I stopped by the lake on my way home from the grocery store (I brought my cooler with me and bought loads of ice cream🙂 ) to see if I could find any birds or anything else worth taking photos of, I met two ornithologists, all ornithologists seems to be very social and they started to talk to me as soon as I came close. These people were the professional kind and their mobile phones twittered all the time, they got text messages from all over the country telling them what kind of rare birds other ornithologists were seeing at the moment. Anyway, these two then told me that we had two Great Egrets somewhere by the lake and that’s so unusual that it’s almost unique here. They also told me that some ornithologists had seen two Black storks, also a rarity here. unfortunately none of them could be seen while I still was there. I did however see two white swans far away and some kind of falcon that nests in a tree just beside where we stood.

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

DSC_0054

 

The thunder is calming down again and most of the rain has stopped falling too. Still the rumbling makes my little cottage tremble but not as much as before. The temperature dropped from 29C (84,2F) to 19C (66,2F) within two minutes. I wouldn’t mind if it stayed like that for a while because the humidity outside is sky-high now and I really don’t want the heat to return until tomorrow🙂 We’ll have warm weather this coming week but rains will come every now and again throughout the week. Perhaps I finally will be able to do something except sitting and hoping I won’t melt away if I breathe🙂

 

Down by the lake.

Down by the lake.

DSC_0002

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

I think it’s safe to turn on the coffee maker now and after that I think a shower is in place, it was hot before the storm and now the humidity makes it sort if sticky just by existing🙂

 

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

If Yopu look hard enough on this photo You'll see a white dot, that's a swan :-)

If You look hard enough on this photo You’ll see a white dot, that’s a swan🙂

DSC_0011

 

Have a great day!

 

It started to blow really hard yesterday so I looked outside. Isn't this how a tornado looks in the beginning? We really don't have tornados but tiny ones that we call tromber. Could this be the start of a tromb?

It started to blow really hard yesterday so I looked outside. Isn’t this how a tornado looks in the beginning? We really don’t have tornadoes but tiny ones that we call tromber. Could this be the start of a tromb?

A Magpie sittimg just outside my kitchen door, it couldn't see me because of the mosquito net between us :-)

A Magpie sitting just outside my kitchen door, it couldn’t see me because of the mosquito net between us🙂

16 thoughts on “Just imagine if it actually was that easy :-)

  1. such beautiful summer photos, the mystery of that smell may remain unsolved, I have never had jelly fish soup and wonder why anyone would choose to eat it! We had swans land in our bay several times, just on their way past, they are lovely but I have heard they are quite nasty! The magpie certainly have a handsome plumage!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The only reason I’ve had jellyfish soup is because I had friends who travelled in china for almost an entire year when we were younger and they wanted to give us some traditional chinese food. I can tell You that nothing even came close to what the food we call chinese tastes like🙂 Our restaurant chinese food is soo much better🙂
      It is an odd smell and especially out on a bog🙂

      Yes swans can be truly nasty! But as long as one stay away from their nests they usually never attacks🙂

      It is a beautiful but rather fun and annoying bird🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it was fun to go through the storm with you! hector is a smart pup. teddy knows when storms are coming and she won’t go for a walk. she wants to stay close to home. we had lots of rain last night and more is on the way for later today. they are saying we might get tornadoes. i sure hope not! we had one here about 15 years ago. it was heading straight for my house but when it hit the mountainside, it popped right over my house and hit ones behind me. peoples roofs were lifted right off of their homes. one neighbor had just come home from work, sat down in his living room with a beer and woosh,,,the top floor of his house was gone. i ran around the neighborhood looking to see if anyone needed help and he was still sitting on his sofa drinking the beer.joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It was a big one today but no lightning hit the ground, they flew between clouds instead. We’ll get more tomorrow they say.

      It’s always wice to see how our dogs behave, I know that as soon as Hector walks in to the bathroom we’ll have a storm within an hour or so.

      We never get tornadoes here but trombs are fairly common now days. I’ve seen one up on the mountain but thought I must be mistaken because that never happens here🙂🙂 That tromb tore of the roof of a barn and made trailors fly for a while🙂

      I hope You’ll have the same luck this time if it would come! Too bad for Your neighbor but at least he survived and got the chance to finish his beer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer! The first photo today is just beautiful! The foggy pictures are wonderfully spooky and I love it!🙂 I am hoping the lightning has died down for you. Thunder is fun, so is rain! We had a bit of rain yesterday and most of the south of us (about 15 minutes away) had tornadoes. Sadly, we were babysitting last night so we could not go chase them. My husband was disappointed! Its cool here today, only reached 21 degrees, Perfect for me!🙂 I hear lots of crows at the moment, busy scolding people or things as they do. We have a magpie around here, about 5 minutes away but it never reaches our house. Too bad, they are lovely to look at! We are supposed to heat up again this week – temperatures in the high 30’s. That doesn’t make me happy! Have a good Monday!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I like fog out by the fields any day but even more by the bog since it is rare there. I’m not sure why but the fog is normally not that thick thet it can be seen in the forest and the bog always seems to be a bit too warm during autumn for fog to stay there. Magpies however aren’t always that fun to have around, they are beautiful and usually fun and very intelligent but they can also be really annoying and they are thiefs and will steel anything they think look beautiful and never hesitate to kill any other bird tghey can reach.

      I do think tornadoes are fascinating but I would never go chasing them🙂🙂🙂 But I guess he’ll get plenty of more chanses before the season is over.

      It was so cool and nice when the thunder storm passed and a while after that. Today will be much the same as yesterday but with high humidity and thunderstorms later in the day. I’ll just keep an eye on Hector, as soon as he walks in to the bathroom we’ll get it here🙂 It was supposed to cool down this week but it looks as if we’ll have just the same temperatures this week too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    I love the pictures of the lake and the bog fog. Nice contrast between the sunny lake and dark and mysterious forest.

    The dogs and I spent the day at my brother’s cottage way up in New Hampshire. It was supposed to be a two hour drive but turned into a 3+ hour drive because I could not find the turn off to the road his cottage is on. I drove very far past it and turned around. Couldn’t call because I had no cell phone signal up there in the mountains. Right when I decided I was going to find a restaurant, eat lunch, use the restroom and go home, I passed the sign for his road. It was just a driveway in someone’s yard.
    Piki Dog didn’t like having to ride all that time and he barfed in the car. He had a panic attack about an hour into the ride and I had to stop and walk them around a bit. Then he decided he was no way going to sit in the booster seat dammit he was going to sit on the console with Rocky. Fine. Whatever. Once we arrived, they were perfect gentlemen. That’s all I ask.🙂

    While there I saw a couple of Bald eagles. Got some crappy pictures of them. There were loons, too, but I only heard them. There were blueberries in the woods. Ate them. There were also Indian Pipes in the woods. Monotropa uniflora. I haven’t seen those anywhere in such a long time.

    It poured buckets of rain now and then. In between deluges, I could look across the lake and see clouds of moisture coming up off the forest. It was like bog lady smoke only right above the tree tops.

    I think your cloud is mammatocumulus cloud. Sometimes they are precursors to tornadoes. Not always though.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I hate it when I miss a road like that, the sign to my village is one people never see either but thankfully they can’t cointinue to drive more than three minutes too long because if they do they’ll see the lake and they all know I live before the lake🙂

      I’¨ve been lucky with my dogs, none has puked in my car🙂 All but one have loved to travel by car, well old Viran did if the car was a big one so she could move around as she pleased, like when I had my very old VW van. She loved that car and moved from window to window for as long the trip took🙂 In smaller cars she usually pressed her head towards my left shoulder as har as she could and started to protest loudly in my left ear🙂🙂🙂

      At first I read that You saw a couple of bad eagles and I saw in my mind the bad eagles in the neighborhood, bullying all the other birds and animals🙂 It’s early morning here right now and I’m not quite awake🙂 Any eagle is beautiful and it’s always impossible to get any really good photos of them.

      What a beautiful plant! I think we have something similar here but I’ve never seen any. Interesting how they survive by getting its energy from fungi that lives symbiotic with trees!

      I guess You have bog ladies too🙂 It does look beautiful when the fog rise like that. It poured down for hours here and we’ll get much the same weather here today. Tomorrow will be really warm with a nasty high humidity, yay🙂

      I had just watched the tv show storm chaser and looked up and saw this cloud when the winds blew as strongest🙂 It looked just like it does before a tornado starts its life.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Bad eagles.🙂 I think the loons thought they were bad because that’s what they were shouting about.
        My photo of the eagle is much like yours of the swan.🙂

      • The bad eagles of the neighborhood terrorising the peaceful loons🙂

        At least You know it’s a bald eagle🙂

  5. Christer,
    Rain was predicted for today, and we had all of fifteen minutes of it. The western part of the state had heavy duty thunder and lightning for most of the morning. The humidity was 85%, and I finally couldn’t take it any longer so I put my AC on. Gracie loves it when I do. She stops panting and sleeps so deeply she snores. The house is pretty comfortable now.

    Tomorrow is supposed to be the same but tomorrow night is supposed to be in the 60’s.

    This has been shark week on syfy because next week is Sharknado 2. The first Sharknado movie was so ridiculous it went viral. The tornado was twisting and spinning sharks in the air. Now it will be New York suffering through a shark tornado. I, of course, will watch it.

    Have a great week!

    • Hi Kat!

      It went on pouring down here for quite some time and now the humidity is sky high. We’ll get much the same weather today and the rest of the weeks seems to be very hot and with very high humidity, I’m soo looking forward to it🙂🙂🙂 I still think it is a bit unnecessary to buy an AC unit (but they still have plenty of them in the stores) but I need to think about it for nest summer.

      Oh! Another Sharknado🙂🙂🙂 The first one even reached the news papers here🙂 I saw some short episodes of it on the net and I can so understand that You want to see the sequal🙂 Too bad we don’t have the ScyFy channel over here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. i lived in Florida for a year and have seen what a really bad thunder and lightening storm can do. Threats of tornado’s were terrifying. It would get suddenly dark outside and the street lights would come on and then it would hit. The winds were so bad that tree’s lay nearly to the ground…Tree’s were torn to pieces and it looked like the area had been bombed. Awful. Nope. I’ll sit around and wait for an earthquake..and hope it doesn’t happen often.

    • Hi Mona!

      I’ve always wondered if it actually is worth to live in Florida, yes it’s nice and warm most part of the year but really! All those hurricanes and god knows what that always hit Florida🙂 I would do like You, chose the earthquakes and forest fires.

      They say we’ll have more severe storms here now when the climate gets warmer but so far we’ve been lucky here at the bog. We do have our flies though🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

